WCAG 2.1’s Seventeen New Success Criteria

  • 15 July 2020

I didn’t try my very hardest to find a list of all of the new Success Criteria in Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.1 (WCAG 2.1) that were not a part of WCAG 2.0, but if there is such a list, it’s not easy to find. UPDATE: Such a list is literally Section 0.5.1: New Features in WCAG 2.1. How I talked myself into such a thing not existing is a mystery. But putting the list below together was still a good exercise for me.

And given the formatting for WCAG 2.0, it’s not all that easy to make such a list, either. But in case this is helpful to anyone, here are the seventeen new Success Criteria in WCAG 2.1, which became a W3C Recommendation in June 2018, with links to each criterion in the specification:

1: Perceivable

2: Operable

4: Robust

Note that Section 2.5: Input Modalities is the only entirely new section, and that there were no additional Success Criteria added under Section 3: Understandable.